I never thought I’d say this

Reading about yet more spates of honour killings by Muslims, I have come to the conclusion that the only thing that will begin to halt this is the death penalty. If a council of male elders decide on an honour killing and then murder the victim, they must all hang. If there is a culture which allows murder, then the only way to stamp it out is by making your own death the consequence of that decision.
It worked with Suti.

2 Responses to I never thought I’d say this

  1. ERS says:

    I am not for state-sanctioned murder, but I agree with you that anyone complicit in these crimes should be held to account.

    Ellen R. Sheeley, Author
    “Reclaiming Honor in Jordan”

  2. wien1938 says:

    Thanks for the (all too rare) response! I’m normally against the death penalty, with the exception of treason in wartime, on the grounds of the danger of putting the innocent to death. But sometimes only collective punishment can stamp out a barbaric behaviour – did the Romans issue warnings to the Druids for human sacrifice?

Leave a Reply

